Continuity and Compactness.

Maybe I should start typing up a blog again. I mean, why not. I think it would be nice after a long, busy day full of math problems, equations, proofs (you name it). I am embarking on this journey where a person with basic knowledge of college math is expected to reach the same math status as a PhD applied math student in just under a year. How crazy is that? Talk about crunching numbers day and night. I mean, I can’t believe I studied for, basically, 12 hours today. Sure, there are breaks in between, but studying that intensely in the first week of school sounds pretty crazy to me. However, on a lighter note, I am actually enjoying this “hard work,” if you call it. There is a deep sense of fulfillment, or rather accomplishment, after studying for that long and then finding out how simple it really is. I know it is not that simple, but after internalizing the material and discussing it over and over again, everything just comes together nicely. It’s a pretty good feeling. Plus, I have amazing cohorts who kept pushing me to understand the material. I mean, they are not really doing that to benefit themselves, but call it “peer pressure” perhaps. It is some good peer pressure because I am benefitting from them by a huge margin. Not to mention, our group keeps on growing. At the end of the day, I feel like we are very coherent and effective where we are productive and we push each other to excel. I love this kind of environment. I feel like we are much closer to the definition of a team than what I had in an actual golf team. It seems very interesting to me. Maybe the age and maturity plays a factor in it. Also, maybe the competition isn’t all that cutthroat in out program. But still, I am glad to have such cohorts who help each other out. I just hope that we continue to be like throughout the semester. I mean, come on, we already have two more problem sets due in two weeks. Yeah, I know, you might think that two weeks isn’t that long. But when programming in a computer language that is fairly foreign, trust me, it is quite challenging. On top of that, it is definitely math heavy. Something that I am not completely prepared for. I have to take my extra time and practice math. I feel a little bit behind with grasping math concepts. Although, I am getting the hang of things, which is good. Although everyone has told us the horror stories of being in this PhD program, I am pretty confident that I can make it. It’s an odd feeling that I get once in a while. But right now, I know that I am in the place where I am meant to be. I am not scared of the future, at least not as much as before I started this program. But, I am certain that things will look towards my favor. Plus, I am really enjoying all this hard work. I am very happy. Then again, maybe I am just saying that because I just finished two problem sets already. We’ll see how everything goes.

This entry was posted in Accidental. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

