Paper Heart.

It certainly has been a year, and I regret none of it.

I remember that day when we went to the theaters to see the Hunger Games. It was the 10th of April 2012, as I recall – or as it says on my ticket stub. I remember coming back from it and taking shots of vodka, taking random photos, playing drinking games. Ah, the infamous red/black card game. I remember having a tally of how many shots we’ve taken. It was nice. I remember it being very carefree.

At the same time, I remember myself living the life to the fullest with you because I knew you were leaving at the end of the semester. I was there in my ‘spring 2012’ self thinking, “well, better make the most of it now; he’s not coming back for you.” But, in reality, he did come back. It was great. I never really knew that would actually happen.

I remember eating dinner with my dad and a friend at this tapas place when I read your message. How can I ever forget that moment. I was sitting in front of them, looking down at my phone and reading the first half of it. I was ecstatic. I tried my best to look calm and act normal. But, I couldn’t hold the excitement anymore, so I excused myself to go to the restroom. There, I read the rest of the message. I was so happy. Just remembering that message is making me feel like a wave of emotions crashing over me. It was just such a happy moment for me.  I remember reading that message over and over and over again. Of course, I had to act cool and respond in a sweet, nonchalant manner. But deep down inside, I was screaming for joy. I never really expected that you would actually come back for me. I never really understood why either, all I knew is that I was glad.

Since then, we’ve exchanged messages back and forth, skyped on the oddest hours of the day, and hoped that we would end up together, one day. Looking back at all the things we’ve done in reality and virtually. I don’t really think any of it has fluctuated. We were just on this relationship at a constant pace. Like what we’ve talked about, it feels very natural. I really love spending time with you, and I hope we get to spend lots of time together very soon.

This entry was posted in Accidental. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

