To the one I can count on…

From the bottom of what used to be my heart…

I’d really like to thank you for everything.

You have no idea how much you’ve made me feel good about myself and everything else. I never understood why we met in the first place. We met at an awkward time too – high school. But, generally, I’m happy to have met you. You are seriously one of the people I know I can depend on the most. You have never let me down even for one second. Not in the last 5 some years I have known you, at least. You have always kept your promises too. Seriously, if I were on my deathbed, and I needed something really important. I’d probably have you on speed dial. No lie. I don’t know why I’m suddenly writing about you. Well… Actually, I do.

Today is probably one of my darker days. I’ve received one of the worst news during math class. 5 minutes into the class my uncle texted me asking how everything was back home. I was alarmed. I can’t believe I was on the verge of balling my eyes out sitting in the second row of math class. All I could do was hold it in. I kept checking the time. Tick tock. 40 minutes left. Tick tock. 20 minutes. Finally, I was able to wait it out. Naturally, the first thing I did was to call my uncle. He said he heard the news from someone else. That was my cue. I called my dad. I finally got the low down on what actually happened. Thank God everything is fine. Or so I’m led to believe. The worst has passed. We just have to keep hoping for the best. No complications. None whatsoever, thankfully.

Of course, I was still pretty disheartened with the whole dilemma. Nothing could cheer me up a while ago. Not even winning the little contest I had with my teammates. Not even finishing and completing my drills. Not even little jokes with Hannah. Nothing. I got home with the heavy weight of fatigue on my shoulders. I thought a nice warm shower would do the trick. You know, relax me a little bit. Nope. Nothing. I was still tired. Then, it dawned to me. I wonder if a 3-year old video clip will cheer me. And, it did.

This is why I’m writing this. The birthday video gift you made me 3 years ago brightened up my day. I was genuinely smiling and laughing as I watched it again. Then, at the end of the 9-minute clip, you told me to smile. So I did.

After the clip, I rummaged through my old files. Lo and behold, I found it. I knew I kept it all this while. It was the 2009 New Year’s greeting you sent me. I saved it. You know, just in case for emotional emergencies like this I would read it. So I did. Re-reading it for the nth time made me realize that you really have kept your promises even though we rarely talk as much. I even only see you once a year at the most. I feel like I’ve taken you for granted at times. So here I am thanking you for everything you’ve done. I never really thought that you would have given me everything I needed when I left home. I never thought that you already gave me the supplies to help me stand on my own, especially in times like this. I must admit. You were definitely right when you said that no matter what happens you’re going to be by my side through all the ups and downs. I hope I can be there for you too, like old times.

This entry was posted in Accidental. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

