The whimsical view of getting what you want.

George Bernard Shaw once wrote: “There are two tragedies in life. One is to lose your heart’s desire. The other is to gain it.”

I just heard that quote today. Any thoughts? The quote sounds ironic. I mean, how can it be tragic to gain your heart’s desire. Apparently, Shaw has had his heart broken a couple of times. In terms of love? Maybe. He is probably insinuating how nerve-racking it is to fear the loss of your heart’s desire, which is why it is tragic to gain it. Hence, this whole quote mainly emphasizes loss. Looking at it in another perspective, Shaw sounds as if he has given up hope in finding your heart’s passion. He hints that once you have captured love, you have to face the fact that you are going to lose it someday.

I beg to disagree on his negative perception of loss. Although I agree that most people would eventually lose something they love over time, I think that it is how life teaches us how to be strong. Something that can’t kill us will make us stronger, right? It’s basically how we move on is the next quote that Shaw should write about.

Speaking of loss and moving on, I have seen yet another movie. It’s called Sylvia. It talks about the marriage between two poets. It is based on a true story about the relationship between Sylvia Plath (Gwyneth Paltrow) and Edgar “Ted” Hughes (Daniel Craig). Basically, Sylvia and Ted married early. Thus, suggesting that they had to experience sacrifice to make ends meet. However, twists and turns to the story unfolds. I am not going to spoil it for my imaginary readers, but I’d just like to comment on how depressing this movie really is. Losing a person you love for overly excessive selfish reasons is  probably the most stupid thing a person would do. Can people not see the brighter side of things? Can they not appreciate the beauty in details? And this situation happened in the 1950s. What more in the 21st century.

I must admit that Shaw’s quote and this movie, Sylvia, have fueled the poison inside my system. This loathsome feeling towards men is somehow intensified. Adding my recent encounters with douchebags, trusting a guy to have an honest relationship with me is seriously out of the question. I cannot even begin how much I have endured losing friendship over lust. So, I guess this is my loss. Apparently, being friends with guys is never enough for them. However, of course, exceptions to this statement do exist. They are just hard to find. It is as if finding needle in a haystack. These exceptional guys are worth keeping. But, those douchebags who think with their smaller head can just go look somewhere else. Or better yet, they can just self-serve themselves. Let their ego to the work.

Another point, I must confess that I have been bottling up those thoughts in my head. I’ve had the strongest urge to let go of it and type it into this blog where my imaginary readers can easily look over.

But, to end this post, I’d like to say that loss is something everybody has to deal with. Believe me, I’ve had my fair share. It’s how people should move on is the question.

This entry was posted in Film, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

